Manchester United: Every player to win Player of the Month award before Bruno Fernandes

  • Rob Swan
Bruno Fernandes is Presented with the Premier League Player of the Month for February

Bruno Fernandes has enjoyed a magnificent start to his Manchester United career.

The 25-year-old, who joined the Red Devils from Sporting Lisbon in January for an initial £47 million fee, has made nine appearances for his new employers, scoring three goals and providing four assists.

His arrival has lifted everybody at the club - from the players through to the fans - and the Portuguese midfielder has been rewarded for his impressive performances with a series of individual awards.

Fernandes was named Man Utd’s Player of the Month for February last week and has now claimed both the EA Sports Player of the Month and PFA Premier League Player of the Month awards.

He becomes the first United player to win the coveted PFA Premier League Player of the Month award since Marcus Rashford in January 2019.

But which other players have won the accolade while playing for Manchester United since it was formed at the start of the 1994-95 season?

We’ve trawled through the stats to find out…

First of all, the players who have only won the award once while playing for the Red Devils.

1 - Bruno Fernandes (February 2020)

1 - Marcus Rashford (January 2019)

1 - Zlatan Ibrahimovic (December 2016)

Manchester United v Sunderland - Premier League

1 - Anthony Martial (September 2015)

1 - Dimitar Berbatov (January 2011)

1 - Nemanja Vidic (January 2009)

1 - Juan Sebastian Veron (September 2001)

Juan Veron Titus Bramble

1 - Teddy Sheringham (October 2000)

1 - Andy Cole (November 1997)

1 - David Beckham (August 1996)

1 - Eric Cantona (March 1996)

1 - Paul Ince (October 1994)

It’s a little surprising that the likes of Rio Ferdinand, Peter Schmeichel and David de Gea (at the time of writing) never managed to win the award.

Even Juan Sebastian Veron, a player often derided as a United flop, won the award after a superb start to his spell at Old Trafford.

Next, the players who have won the award twice while playing for Man Utd.

2 - Ryan Giggs (August 2006, February 2007)

Fulham and Manchester United

2 - Dwight Yorke (January 1999, March 2000)

2 - Roy Keane (October 1998, December 1999)

2 - Robin van Persie (December 2012, April 2013)

Manchester United v Aston Villa - Premier League

Ryan Giggs spent his entire professional career with United and won a remarkable 13 Premier League titles, yet only has two Premier League Player of the Month awards to his name.

Robin van Persie won the accolade twice in the space of four months during the 2012-13 season, in which he inspired the Red Devils to Premier League glory.

Next, we have Ruud van Nistelrooy on three wins.

3 - Ruud van Nistelrooy (December 2001, February 2002, April 2003)

Van Nistelrooy Celebrates Scoring The Opening Goal

Van Nistelrooy is one of the best centre-forwards - if not *the* best - that United have had during the Premier League era. The Dutchman scored 95 goals in 150 Premier League appearances over five seasons for the Red Devils.

On four wins apiece, we have two of United’s greatest ever players.

4 - Cristiano Ronaldo (November 2006, December 2006, January 2008, March 2008)

Manchester United's Portuguese midfielde

4 - Paul Scholes (January 2003, December 2003, October 2006, August 2010)

It’s no real shock that Cristiano Ronaldo didn’t win his first PFA Player of the Month award until his fourth season at Old Trafford. He was often frustrating during his first three seasons at United but eventually developed into one of the league’s most consistent performers.

On the other hand, it is quite surprising that Paul Scholes didn’t win the first of his four awards until January 2003.

Manchester United's English midfielder P

And finally, the only player to have won the PFA Player of the Month award five times while on Man Utd’s books.

5 - Wayne Rooney (February 2005, December 2005, March 2006, October 2007, January 2010)

Wayne Rooney, Man Utd’s all-time leading goalscorer, won his five awards between February 2005 and January 2010.

The fact he failed to win the award again in his final seven years as a United player says a lot.

Arsenal v Manchester United - Premier League

For whatever reason, he wasn’t quite the same world-class player during his latter years with the Red Devils. But for a period of about six years, he was absolutely exceptional and deserves to be remembered as one of United’s best ever players.

News Now - Sport News